A catch phrase will go here soon.

Is this a scam? Fw: About "calacanis" intellectual property rights(TOCEO&Principal)

4/8/2009

Anyone else getting these?

—————
Jason@Calacanis.com | Mobile: 310-456-4900
http://www.calacanis.com | http://www.mahalo.com
Executive Assistant: admin@calacanis.com


From: “Danny”
Date: Wed, 8 Apr 2009 14:44:56 +0800 (CST)
To: Jason<Jason@Calacanis.com>
Subject: About “calacanis” intellectual property rights(TOCEO&Principal)
Dear CEO & Principal,
 
We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies’ domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.
 
On April 7, 2009, we received an application formally. One company named “HHM Holdings Ltd” wanted to applied for the domain names“calacanis.hk, calacanis.asia, calacanis.eu, calacanis.us, calacanis.ca etc.” and Internet trademark“calacanis”  through our body.
 
Now we are handling with the registration of these domain names and find that the keyword of these domain names and internet trademark is identical with your company’s. So we have to confirm with you at two points:
1. If your company consign HHM company to register these domain names and internet trademark, we will send application form to them and help them finish the registration at once.
2. If your company have nothing to do with HHM company, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and internet trademark.
 
In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by email or telephone ASAP.
 
Best Regards,
Danny
Auditing Department



Tel: +852-2297-9279       
Fax: +852-2297-9209
Email:
Danny@eworld.hk
Website: http://www.eworld.hk

  • http://www.digitalmediabiz.com Aanarav Sareen

    Yes, this is a scam. I’ve seen 2 of these in the past year.

    - Aanarav

  • http://www.linkup.com/ Eric Caron

    These trickle in to us at LinkUp occasionally, probably 1 every other week. Just a bunch of scam TLD people trying to drum up some business for their over-priced domains. Topping the list, the .cn, .hk and .ck registrars allow these nefarious parties to continue, and ICANN needs to step in and bring some order. The list of these schemes at http://www.firetrust.com/en/blog/chris/domain-name-scams really scares me with how many people probably fall for this junk.

  • http://www.andrlik.org Daniel

    My assumption is that it is a scam. I’ve received similar emails from them at work. We assumed they were a scam, but I can’t find any other info about this practice. You are the first other person I’ve seen to mention it online. So, yeah, that info probably doesn’t help but I can tell you that other people are getting them.

  • http://tixnix.com drew massie

    Yep, it’s a scam. I got this too. I strung them along a little while to see what happens.

    Step 1 – Email comes to domain holder from fake registrar
    Step 2 – “Other company” that is trying to secure the domain emails you saying that they still are applying for the domain.
    Step 3 – Email from fake registrar asks again if you want to buy the domain.
    Step 4 – Fake registrar quotes outlandish prices for the domains.

    Kind regards,

    -Drew

  • Tiffany K

    Yes, it’s a scam. Another blogger received a similar email, replied, and received an odd follow-up:

    http://www.everybodygoto.com/2009/03/10/chinese-domain-name-scam/

    Great post to bring to everyone’s attention, Jason!
    Tiffany

  • larry

    Yep, it’s a scam. We got the same email to a variety of our company’s websites making the same “offer.” It’s just spam trying to bait you into registering your domains with them.

  • http://thisnext.com Tyson

    We were getting them at TN for a while. Different names used, but same idea. I’m not sure what the scam is, but it doesn’t seem legit.

    ex:
    —————–

    Dear Principal,

    We are a domain name registration center in HongKong and in charge of the registeration in Asia.We have something important need to confirm with your company.

    On Sep.15th.2008, we received a formal application from a company called ” Windstorm invest Ltd ” applying to register
    Internet trademark: thisnext

    Domain names:
    thisnext.asia
    thisnext.com.tw
    thisnext.hk
    thisnext.tw
    thisnext.ch
    thisnext.fr
    thisnext.ru

    During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged ” Windstorm invest Ltd ” has no trade mark, intellectual property, we have the duty to inform you this matter. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. In order to deal with this issue better, please let someone who can be in charge contact me as soon as possible.

    Best Regards
    Paker Lin
    Auditing Department

    Tel: 00852 9566 0205 00852 9566 0103
    Fax: 00852 8226 1055
    Email: paker.lin@china-net.hk.cn Directly: paker.lin@asiadm.org.cn
    Web: http://www.netinchina.com.hk
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________
    Confidentiality Notice. This is a letter for confirmation. If the mentioned third party is your business partner or distributor in China please do not reply. We will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure.

  • http://www.vigilnetworks.com Randy Schultz

    Got a similar email June 10, 2009. Was pretty sure it was a scam but am glad to confirm via the posts here.

  • http://www.pnoconsultants.com Ran Panday

    Got one of these last week.
    See message below:

    *
    Dear CEO & Principal

    We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies’ domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.

    On Aug 3,2009, we received an application formally. One company named “OMEE Holdings Ltd” wanted to applied for the Internet Keyword “our company name ” and some domain names through our body.

    Now we are handling with the registration of these domain names and find that the keyword of these domain names and internet Internet Keyword is identical with your company’s. So we have to confirm with you at two points:
    1. If your company consign OMEE company to register these domain names and internet Internet Keyword, we will send application form to them and help them finish the registration at once.
    2. If your company have nothing to do with OMEE company, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and Internet Keyword.

    I want to confirm that are you the corporate representative of this company? If you do, I will feedback some problems to you; if you do not, please send my words to your company’s cororate representative or lawyer. We need your answer of force adeffect. In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

    Best Regards,

    Eric
    Auditing Department

  • http://bestpaydayloans.info Carolyn

    They are still active…

    Just got one today:

    Dear CEO/Manager,

    We are a domain name registration center in HongKong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection. On Aug 20, 2009 we received a formal application from a company who is applying to register several domains, using “asuta” as the internet keyword. After investigation, we find that you are the original user of the keyword. Such similar domain cases may involve your company name or trade mark, and may cause website confusion and conflicts. For a responsible attitude, we inform you here and your opinion, in order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by email or telephone ASAP.

    Looking forward to your reply.

    Kind Regards,

    Faithe

    Phone: +852-31757931 (8001)
    Fax: +852-31757932
    Email: Faithe.Lee@hk-nsc.hk
    Website: www .hknsc .hk

    Confidentiality Statement:
    The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not an intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or other action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this message in error please be advised of your obligation to immediately notify sender of the error in transmission, and to destroy all associated documentation.

    After I told the to go f**k themselves they got angry and responded:

    我操你大爷,你个杂碎,OK?你他妈的就是一个贱人,去死吧,狗日的东西,你鼻子里面插根葱就想冲大象啊?你个傻B OK?
    Google translation:

    I speak of your uncle, you are a chop suey, OK? Hell you are a slut, Death, dogs on the East and West, inserted inside the root of your nose red onion want the elephant ah? You are a silly B OK?

loading
English Bulldog

Hello, my name is Jason. Welcome to my blog on the interwebs. You can reach me on twitter @jason and by email at jason@calacanis.com. My Skype is jasoncalacanis, and my mobile phone is 310-456-4900.

I only pick up numbers I recognize, and in terms of emailing me, the best strategy is to write short, blunt and to the point requests. I can quickly respond to short messages, and many times I simply don't have the time to read five page pitches. In terms of taking meetings, I only do that after reviewing an actual product (not a business plan). So, the best time to ping me is when you have mockups or an alpha site. I don't read business plans, and I've never written one.

Other twitter accounts you can follow: Video Games, Open Angel Forum, and LAUNCH Conference & Newsletter

Archives